Numerous COVID-19 precautions are in place to ensure the health and safety of our campus community. Our COVID-19 Dashboard will be updated every Wednesday with testing results. Other information can be found on our main COVID-19 page

Omicron Delta Kappa

The Lake Forest College Circle of Omicron Delta Kappa was chartered on April 27, 2014.

The Lake Forest College Circle of Omicron Delta Kappa was chartered on April 27, 2014.

Lake Forest College is honored to have a circle of Omicron Delta Kappa, the national leadership honor society. With only 317 circles nationwide, this prestigious organization recognizes junior and senior year student leaders who have excelled both academically and within campus life.

Student must rank in the top 35 percent of their class and have shown leadership in one or more of the five major phases of campus life:

  • Scholarship
  • Athletics
  • Journalism, speech and the mass media
  • Creative and performing arts
  • Campus or community service, social or religious activities and campus governance

Students are inducted into the circle each year and join a network of over 300,000 members, some of whom include George H.W. Bush, Margaret Thatcher, Hilary Clinton, Peyton Manning, and Sheryl Crow.

The Purpose of the Omicron Delta Kappa Society is Threefold:

  • First, to recognize those who have attained a high standard of efficiency in collegiate activities and to inspire others to
    strive for conspicuous attainments along similar lines;
  • Second, to bring together the most representative students in all phases of collegiate life and thus to create an
    organization which will help to mold the sentiment of the institution on questions of local and intercollegiate interest;
  • Third, to bring together members of the faculty and student body of the institution, as well as other Omicron Delta
    Kappa members, on a basis of mutual interest, understanding, and helpfulness.

For more information on Omicron Delta Kappa, contact the Gates Center.

Members of the Lake Forest College Circle of Omicron Delta Kappa

Class of 2020

  • Alexsandra Biel ’20, Neuroscience Major
  • Nina Codell ’20, English and Secondary Education Double Major
  • Casey Duel ’20, Biology Major
  • Nena Fasbender ’20, Neuroscience and Business Accounting Double Major
  • Zachary Feldman ’20, Chemistry and Biology Double Major
  • Samuel Gascoigne ’20, Neuroscience and Biology Double Major
  • Lauren Giurini ’20, Mathematics Major
  • Claire Grebner ’20, Sociology & Anthropology and Politics Double Major
  • Hajar Habbal ’20, Business Marketing Major
  • Sandra Khouri ’20, Economics and Philosophy Double Major
  • Sushmeena Parihar ’20, Psychology Major
  • Hakob Parsamyan ’20, International Relations and Marketing Double Major
  • Kal Parvanov ’20, Mathematics and Finance Double Major
  • Sam Russell ’20, Biology Major
  • Andrew Smyrniotis ’20, Business Major

Class of 2021

  • Mohammed AbuBakar ’21, Computer Science Major
  • Megan Crapo ’21, Biology Major
  • Britt Dahlin ’21, Economics Major
  • Annie Dalton ’21, Economics and Spanish Double Major
  • Amanda Forshey ’21, English Major
  • Molly Gniady 21, Finance and Data Science Double Major
  • Joao Godoy ’21, Finance and Mathematics Double Major
  • Hannah Gurholt ’21, Biology Major
  • Amanda Lee ’21, Business and International Relations Major
  • Julie Lord ’21, Communication Major
  • Zubair Mohammed ’21, Neuroscience Major
  • Grace Monshausen ’21, Neuroscience and Philosophy Double Major
  • Audrey Paglia ’21, Elementary Education and Spanish Double Major
  • Diayan Rajamohan ’21, Sociology & Anthropology Major
  • Jan Roessler ’21, Finance and Computer Science Double Major
  • Rachel Robbins ’21, International Relations Major
  • Sarah Stauber ’21, Computer Science Major
  • Madison Strejc ’21, Neuroscience Major
  • Zoe Walts ’21, Neuroscience Major
Omicron Delta Kappa Membership Benefits

Membership to Omicron Delta Kappa provides access to various benefits and resources to help you develop personally and professionally. Some of these benefits include the opportunity to:

  • Continue your education
    Apply for one of more than 35 scholarships of $1,000 and $2,000 for graduate school expenses.
  • Find an internship
    Apply to an internship with one of our partner organizations, and look for scholarships and waived application fees to some of these programs.
  • Attend conferences and workshops
    Practice your leadership abilities at the National Leadership Conference.
  • Develop your skills
    You will be automatically subscribed to Leading Today Leading Tomorrow, a monthly email with the latest insights on leadership and developing your strengths.

History of Omicron Delta Kappa

Omicron Delta Kappa, the National Leadership Honor Society, was founded December 3, 1914 at Washington and Lee University in Lexington, Virginia by 15 student and faculty leaders. The founders formulated the idea that leadership of exceptional quality and versatility in college should be recognized, that representatives in all phases of college life should cooperate in worthwhile endeavors, and that outstanding students, faculty, and administrators should meet on a basis of mutual interest, understanding, and helpfulness.

OΔK was the first college honor society of a national scope to give recognition and honor for meritorious leadership and service in extracurricular activities and to encourage development of general campus citizenship. Since its founding, Omicron Delta Kappa has initiated over 300,000 members.