COVID-19 precautions and policies are in place to ensure the health and safety of our campus community. Information can be found on our main COVID-19 page

Nu Rho Psi

Lake Forest College became the 26th member of Nu Rho Psi, the National Honor Society in Neuroscience, founded in 2006 by the  Faculty for Undergraduate Neuroscience  in spring 2012. Nine neuroscience majors and two faculty were inducted as charter members. After a successful first year, an additional four neuroscience majors, one faculty member and three recent alumni were inducted in spring 2013.

In 2014, our chapter was honored as the National Chapter of-the-Year at the annual Society for Neuroscience meeting in San Diego (CA).

The purpose of Nu Rho Psi is to:

  • encourage professional interest and excellence in scholarship, particularly in neuroscience;
  • award recognition to students who have achieved such excellence in scholarship;
  • advance the discipline of neuroscience; encourage intellectual and social interaction between students, faculty, and professionals in neuroscience and related fields;
  • promote career development in neuroscience and related fields;
  • increase public awareness of neuroscience and its benefits for the individual and society; and encourage service to the community.



Welcoming our newest Nu Rho Psi Inductees!

Twelve current students were inducted on April 28, 2018! Congratulations new members!

2012 Nu Rho Psi induction

Upcoming Events

Feb 9, 2019- Brain Bee

Local high school students will join in a competition that tests their knowledge in Neuroscience. Winners will advance to the National Brain Bee. The goal is to motivate young students to study the brain, and potentially pursue careers in research. 

Location: Lillard Science center and Lily Holt Memorial Chapel.


Latest News

Brain Bee 2020

More than 50 students from 21 high schools in the greater Chicago area competed in the 2020 Chicago Brain Bee that took place on February 8 at Lake Forest College.

Neuroscience and Psychology senior Abby King '19 wins the Third Prize in the undergraduate competition.

At the 2019 Chicago Society for Neuroscience (CSfN) Meeting, Abagayle King ’19 won the Third Prize in the undergraduate poster competition, becoming the 21st Forester in 16 years to be recognized research at this venue since undergraduates were first recognized in 2003.


Jessica Day ’22

Amanda Grassel ’22

Ondine Berg ’23

Raneem Samman ’24
Secretary (Fall 2021)

Sydni Foley ’22 
Secretary (Spring 2022)

Ryan Osselborn ’23
Membership manager

Kamden Kuklinski ’23
Outreach chair

Katelyn Holstein ’23
Social media manager

Katrina Topacio ’22

Related Links