• <div style="background-image:url(/live/image/gid/60/width/1600/height/300/crop/1/29122_10401981_1004028349629458_8008107117841765376_n.rev.1446045049.jpg)"/>
  • <div style="background-image:url(/live/image/gid/60/width/1600/height/300/crop/1/29997_13537953983_5cff365fc4_o.rev.1450805192.jpg)"/>
  • <div style="background-image:url(/live/image/gid/60/width/1600/height/300/crop/1/29999_6856950268_ed6442d1ca_o.rev.1450805264.jpg)"/>
  • <div style="background-image:url(/live/image/gid/60/width/1600/height/300/crop/1/29998_8071086937_683d5a422f_o.rev.1450805230.jpg)"/>

Study Abroad and Domestic Study Away

Notes from Abroad: Marco in Tanzania

Marco Servin ’20, a dual major on Biology and Sociology and Anthropology, is studying in Arusha Tanzania.

I would like to thank Mrs. Joann Kuerst Huntington and The Speros Fund for helping sponsor my study abroad out in Arusha Tanzania. I am in the Associated Colleges of the Midwest (ACM) program at MSTCDC Tanzania. Here I have been taking four courses. Archeology and Human Origins, African Ecology, Research Methods, and Kiswahili. In Archaeology we examine different aspects of African culture, history, and human origin sites in Africa. During African Ecology I have been learning more about the animals, plants, weather, and environment of East Africa. I am also learning the native language of Kiswahili, which is proving to be my toughest course. Lastly, the Research Methods course allows me to design, and perform my own field research. All these classes are great for my education as I am majoring in Biology, Anthropology, and Sociology. 
My days are very long but eventful. I wake up around 7am to eat breakfast with my host father, Benjamin Gamboloya. He is a language trainer at the facility where I take classes. I begin my first class, Kiswahili, from 8:30-12:30. I eat and begin my next class, Ecology, Anthropology, or Methods, from 1:30pm- 5pm. The day of the week determines which course I am attending. Then from 5:00-7:00pm I relax. I finish up my day by doing homework from 8:00pm-12am. However, on the weekends I have much more free time and fun. Usually we are on some safari or excursion exploring the cities or natural environments. During the Safaris we camp in tents while exploring the Anthropological and Ecological aspects of Tanzania. I recently just returned from an 11-day safari in which we visited historical sites such as Oldupai, Serengeti, Ngorongoro Crater, and Laetoli. I have been having an educational adventure out here and I am continuing to hone the skills for my career as an Ecological and Anthropological researcher. Thank you very much for helping me get here.