• <div style="background-image:url(/live/image/gid/95/width/1600/height/300/crop/1/42360_HOMECOMING_darker.rev.1523377981.jpg)"/>

Communications and Marketing

Class of 2022 welcomed during Matriculation

The Lake Forest College community welcomed more than 470 new and transfer students during the traditional 2018 Matriculation Ceremony, held on Wednesday, August 29 at First Presbyterian Church of Lake Forest.

During the ceremony, President of Student Government Hakob Parsamyan ’20 welcomed the newest members of the student body and College President Stephen D. Schutt offered words of encouragement and advice for the next four years. 

President Schutt, Interim Krebs Provist and Dean of the Faculty Davis Schneiderman and Vice President of Student Affairs and Dean of Students Andrea Conner, assisted by Faculty Marshal and Professor Carol Tuttle presented the following honors and awards: 

  • Scott Fossel ’75 Prize: Sandra Khouri ’20 and Amanda Lee ’21. Recognizes a rising junior and a rising sophomore who exhibit positive leadership attributes in scholarly and/or co-curricular activities. 
  • Emma O. Haas Memorial Award for Merit in Scholarship: Yoan Ganev ’19 and Kaloyan Parvanov ’20. Awarded to a junior and sophomore for outstanding scholarship during the preceding academic year. 
  • First-Year Writing Contest Award: Zachary Klein ’21. Bestowed on a first-year student who demonstrated interest and excellence in scholarly writing. 
  • All-College Writing Award: Isabel McKenzie ’19. Encourages interest and excellence in scholarly writing by all undergraduate students at the College. 
  • Roger A. White ’60 Prize in Philosophy: Larissa Pentland ’21. Recognizes a philosophy major who embodies Roger White’s intellectual curiosity and strong belief in lifelong learning. 
  • Bird Award for Intellectual Contributions to the Campus Community: Professor of Physics Michael Kash ’77. Recognizes a College faculty, staff, student, or friend who brings a special measure of intellectual fervor and commitment.

Following the awards presentation, Conner led the formal induction to the College and Professor Don Meyer and Alexa Andrews ’19 performed the College’s Alma Mater. 

A piper and drummer began the recessional out of the church with members of the Student Government Executive Board and the 2018-2019 Senior 25 leading the new students through a colorful gauntlet of national flags representing their home countries and cheering faculty, staff, and students. The group proceeded to the Matriculation Reception in the Mohr Student Center.