• <div style="background-image:url(/live/image/gid/95/width/1600/height/300/crop/1/42360_HOMECOMING_darker.rev.1523377981.jpg)"/>

Communications and Marketing

RFUMS Summer Scholars begin work

Now that summer has arrived, it’s time for Lake Forest College science majors to start their unique summer research training program at the Rosalind Franklin University of Medicine and Science (RFUMS).

Every summer, 15 to 20 Lake Forest College students, from first-year to senior thesis students, conduct 10 to 12 weeks of paid research as RFUMS summer fellows. Alumnae of this program are successfully pursuing PhDs, medical school, physical therapy, optometry, and other scientific careers.

During the summer, each student works in a specific medical school professor’s lab carrying out original medical research in the areas of cell and molecular pharmacology, neuroscience, cell biology and anatomy, biochemistry and molecular biology, pathology, microbiology and immunology, and physiology and biophysics.

This is the tenth year of this program that has supported over 130 funded positions and provided opportunities to over a 100 undergraduate scholars from the College. It is funded in part by the Rosalind Franklin University of Medicine and Science, Gorter Family Foundation, Grace Elizabeth Groner Foundation, and Career Advancement Center at Lake Forest College.

This year’s scholars will research cutting-edge topics in areas as diverse as stress and anxiety, immunology of viruses, application of stem cells, traumatic brain injury, brain and muscular diseases, cancer, sports medicine, and community health.

The following are 2018’s RFUMS summer fellows and their mentors:

  • Tariq Aldaas ’19, Professor David Everly
  • Alexsandra Biel ’20, Professor Joanna Dabrowska
  • Michael Buabeng ’19, Professor Gulam Waris
  • Sandra Campos ’20, Professor Neelam Sharma-Walia
  • Samuel Curry ’19, Professor Michelle Hastings
  • Kendra Fobert ’19, Professor Hong-kyun Kim
  • Phillip Freund ’19, Professor Kaiwen Kam
  • Christina Gimondo ’19, Professor Professor Ronald Kaplan
  • Nicole Hedger ’19, Professor Anthony West
  • Aiden Houcek ’20, Professor Robert Marr
  • Victoria Miller ’20, Professor Rachel Greenley
  • Grace Mounshausen ’21, Professor Kaiwen
  • Nebojsa Markovic ’19, Professor Jun-Yong Choe
  • Eliska Mrackova ’19, Professor Amiel Rosenkranz
  • Samantha Russell ’20, Professor Neelam Sharma-Walia
  • Anthony Sullivan ’21, Professor Gulam Waris
  • Danielle Sychowksi ’19, Professor Daniel Peterson
  • Tubanji Walubita ’19, Professor Kimberly Elliott
  • Zachary Weinstein ’18, Professor Ryan Crews