• <div style="background-image:url(/live/image/gid/6/width/1600/height/300/crop/1/30485_library.rev.1454952369.png)"/>
  • <div style="background-image:url(/live/image/gid/6/width/1600/height/300/crop/1/30028_english-_literature.rev.1452013046.png)"/>
  • <div style="background-image:url(/live/image/gid/6/width/1600/height/300/crop/1/29873_header-aerial.rev.1450206652.jpg)"/>
  • <div style="background-image:url(/live/image/gid/6/width/1600/height/300/crop/1/30027_self_designed_major.rev.1451946126.png)"/>
  • <div style="background-image:url(/live/image/gid/6/width/1600/height/300/crop/1/30025_education.rev.1451945980.png)"/>
  • <div style="background-image:url(/live/image/gid/6/width/1600/height/300/crop/1/30024_area_studies.rev.1451945934.png)"/>
  • <div style="background-image:url(/live/image/gid/6/width/1600/height/300/crop/1/29871_papers.rev.1452013163.png)"/>

English and Creative Writing

Madeleine P. Plonsker Past Winners

2017 winners and finalists:

Christine LarussoWinner:  
Christine Larusso, Los Angeles, CA: MAR 


Soham Patel, Milwaukee, WI: The Daughter Industry

Educational History? - Kamden Hilliard, Iowa City, IA

in place of a mouth - Mackenzie Kozak, Asheville, NC

One Day, the Babies - Shawn Maddey, Pittsburgh, PA

Secondhand Bouquet - Sara McGuirk, Iowa City, IA

Nurse - Cara Olexa, Portland, OR

The Gook of Our Mothers - Jenifer Sang Eun Park, Tuscaloosa, AL

Save Heaven for the Rest of Us - Zan de Parry, Detroit, MI

The Wilting Tree - Dustin Pearson, Summerville, SC

The Lexicographer’s Garden - Phoebe Reeves, Cincinnati, OH

After June - Sara Renberg, Pittsburgh, PA

These Ghosts/This Compost - Jake Syersak, Athens, GA

Meg Whiteford
2016 Winner (Prose):

Meg Whiteford, author of novel An Ordered World.

2015 Winner (Prose):

Christopher Pérez, author of LOVE PANT ALIEN, a book of poems. 

2014 Winner (Prose):

Matthew Nye, whose novel, Pike and Bloom, was released in February 2016.

2013 Winner (Poetry):

Cecilia K. Corrigan, whose book of poems, Titanic, was release in September 2014.

2012 Winner (Prose):

Elizabeth Gentry, whose novel, Housebound, was released in September 2013.

2011 Winner (Poetry):

José Perez Beduya, whose book, Throng, was released in September 2012. (Guest Judge: Jennifer Moxley.)

2010 Winner (Prose):

Gretchen Henderson, whose book Galerie de Difformité, was released in October 2011.

2009 Winner (Poetry):

Jessica Savitz, whose book Hunting is Painting, was released in October 2010.