• <div style="background-image:url(/live/image/gid/95/width/1600/height/300/crop/1/42360_HOMECOMING_darker.rev.1523377981.jpg)"/>

Communications and Marketing

Foreign-language honor society inducts 21 new members

This spring, 21 students were welcomed into the Mu Chapter of Phi Sigma Iota, a national honor society that recognizes achievement in academic fields related to foreign language.

During the induction ceremony, the Department of Modern Languages and Literatures also gave two awards. The Superlative Achievement in Linguistics Award, established by George and Ingrid Speros, was presented to Svetlana Klevanskaya ’11 and Matthew Leonard ’11 was the recipient of the Wilhelm Meister Award for outstanding progress in German studies.

The following students were inducted during on April 12, 2011:

Kyriaki Ades ’13                                    

Laura Applebaum ’13                           

Stephen Beeaker ’11                        

Denitza Boudeva ’11                        

Basak Cavus ’11                                    

Vanessa Flores ’12                        

Emily Hampden-Smith ’13            

Svetlana Klevanskaya ’11            

Erin Kummer ‘11

Matthew Leonard ‘11

Valerie Miller ‘11

Ioana Munteau ‘13

Mary Nelson ‘12

Carliann Pentz ‘13

Katherine Raftery ‘14

Daiva Ragas ’11

Lucy Roque ‘13

Stephanie Sobieraj ‘12

Lauren Stroner ‘11

Michelle Stroner ‘11

Nicole Stroner ‘14       

There are approximately 250 chapters of Phi Sigma Iota at institutions of higher learning in the United States, Mexico and France. Lake Forest’s chapter began in 1929, making it one of the oldest.