• <div style="background-image:url(/live/image/gid/198/width/1600/height/300/crop/1/50546_Middle_South_drone1.rev.1554236092.jpg)"/>

Forester News

Welcome, new students!

This semester Lake Forest College welcomes 30 new students to the Forester fold. The new Foresters include 27 transfers—17 from community colleges and 10 from four-year institutions—and three first-year students. 

Community colleges represented include College of Lake County, Oakton Community College, William Rainey Harper College, McHenry County College, Rock Valley College, and Wilbur Wright Community College.

The four-year institutions represented this year include Lawrence University, Penn State, Illinois Wesleyan University, Robert Morris College, Southern Illinois University, Hamline University, Gustavus Adolphus College, Tribeca Flashpoint Academy, Florida Southern College, and University of Missouri St. Louis.

In addition to the three first-year students, there are four first-year transfers, six sophomores, and 17 juniors. There are 18 females and 12 males. 

The majority of new students hail from Illinois, but Florida, Kentucky, Minnesota, Missouri, and Wisconsin are represented with one student each. Nineteen of the Illinois students are commuters.

The group of new Foresters is filled with successful scholars: seven are Phi Theta Kappa members and 23 are receiving Presidential Scholarships. 

Finance and psychology are the largest majors with three apiece, and Assistant Professor Kent Grote has collected the most new advisees with seven in business, economics, and finance. 

The group of newcomers has two student-athletes: Hannah Kobienia ’21, a hockey player and biology major, and Pratheek Mandalapu ’22, a men’s tennis player who plans to double major in computer science and business.

Lake Forest welcomes the newest additions to the Forester family and their future contributions to the College.